The Nigerian Rural sociological Association (now Rural Sociological Association of Nigeria - RuSAN) was formed on January 7 1981. The inaugural congress of the association was held from November 7-11, 1983 at Ile-Ife in Obafemi Awolowo University.  It is a broad-based professional association with membership across a wide spectrum of institutions including universities, agricultural research institutes and other agricultural and rural development agencies both in private and public sectors.

According to the Association constitution, the motto shall be: “Achieving best quality of life for Rural Dwellers”.

The objects of the Association shall be to:-

i.        Encourage aggressive rural empowerment programme;

ii.       Address myriads of challenges facing rural dwellers;

iii.     Proffer solution(s) to rural life transformation needs;

iv.     Use its financial resources for the objects of the Association;

v.       Acquire properties for the objects of the Association.

vi.     Invest all or part of its funds in any Bank of any limited liability company as may be approved by at least two-thirds of its financial members in any AGM of the Association at which such issues are raised.       

vii.   Expand the boundaries of knowledge by publication, seminars, conferences, talks, research and excursions; and

viii. Carry on such other activities as are incidental to the attainment of its objects.


Membership of the Association shall be in five (5) groups as stated below:

(a)    Ordinary member: Ordinary membership shall be open to all persons who are interested in and relevant to the objects of the society;

(b)   Cooperate member: Cooperate membership shall be open to any group of people or organization interested in and relevant to the objects of the Association.

(c)    Life member: Life membership shall be open to individuals who must have been active financial members for at least 5 years.

(d)   Student member: Student membership shall be open to any individual in any organized professional or academic institution interested in and relevant to the objects of the Association.

(e)   Honorary member: - Honorary membership may be conferred on anyone who shall be deemed worthy of the honour on the recommendation and approval by two –thirds (2/3) of members present at an Annual General Meeting (AGM).

(f)     Fellow (FNRSA): Fellowship of the Association may be conferred on any worthy member who must have served the Association meritoriously or who might have served the larger society or the academia or a related profession meritoriously well. Such a person must also have made a landmark contribution to growth and development of Rural Sociology or related discipline nationally and/or internationally. In case of a serving president of the Association, adjudged to be qualified for the Fellowship, it shall be conferred at the expiration of his tenure in office. 

The association creates platform for members to come together to cross-fertilize ideas; promote scholarship and professionalism; and generate communiqués and research publications contributing toward sustainable development of the rural sector of Nigeria economy.

The past Presidents of the Association include:

  1. Prof. Joseph Ade Alao [first National President; 1981 - 2000].
  2. Prof. Ekong E. Ekong [second National President; 2000 - 2005].
  3. Prof. Samson Fola Adedoyin [third National President; 2005 - 2010]
  4. Prof. Chukwudi P. O. Obinne [fourth National President; 2010 - 2012]
  5. Prof. Ademola Adekunte Ladele [fifth National President; 2012 - 2016]
  6. Prof. O. B. Oyesola [sixth National President; 2017 - 2021]
  7. Prof G. M. Adebo [Seventh National President; 2021 - 2025]

The incumbent National President of the Association is Prof Grace Modupe Adebo.

The 2022 annual congress marks the 31st Annual congress to be held since the Association was established.

Over the years, the Association has published several volumes of refereed journals and proceedings of its annual congresses. It has a journal the (Nigerian Journal of Rural Sociology) and the Editors-in-Chief that have sustained the Association’s publications are: Professor A. U. Patel, Professor A. A. Jibowo, Professor A. A. Ladele, Professor Francis Ademola Kuponiyi, Prof Kolawole Adebayo, and the current one is Prof John O. Oladeji.

The National Executive Committee is very committed and members work assiduously to sustain the ethos of the Association.

Since 2005, the association has consistently held its congresses with the following details:






Poverty, governance, and social values in rural context

Prof John O. Oladeji

FUOYE, Ekiti state


Transforming Rural Environment: The Sociological Perspective

Prof. Kolawole Adebayo



Emancipation of the Rural Family in Contemporary Nigeria

Prof. Kolawole Adebayo

Landmark University, Omu Aran, Kwara State


Transforming Nigeria’s Rural Environment: The Sociological Perspective

Prof. Kolawole Adebayo

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife


Rural Social Fortification and Development in Nigeria

Prof. Kolawole Adebayo

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria


Grassroots Development and Dividend of Democracy

Prof. Kolawole Adebayo

Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike


Conflict, Peace Building and Rural Development


Prof. F. A. Kuponiyi

Federal University of Oye-Ekiti, Oye-Ekiti


Changing Social Values, Transparency and Sharp Practices – Impacts on Agricultural and Rural Development

Prof. F. A. Kuponiyi

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso


Social Engineering on Sustainability of the Agricultural Transformation Agenda

Prof. F. A. Kuponiyi

University of Benin, Benin


Perspectives on changing rural social organisations, structures and institutions and implications for agricultural development strategies in sub-Saharan Africa

Prof. F. A. Kuponiyi

University of Uyo, Uyo


Challenges and Approaches to Sustainable Rural Development in sub-Saharan Africa

Prof. F. A. Kuponiyi

University of Ibadan, Ibadan


Socioeconomic Analysis of Entrepreneurial Education Food security Poverty alleviation Linkages in Nigeria

Prof. F. A. Kuponiyi

Fed Coll of Agric Produce Tech, Hotoro, Kano


Approaches towards the Transformation of Rural and Agricultural Economy in Nigeria

Prof. A. A. Ladele

University of Agriculture, Makurdi


Globalization of the Socio-Political Economy of Rural Development

Dr. A. A. Ladele



Policy Advocacy Role in Agricultural and Rural Transformation in Nigeria

Dr. A. A. Ladele



Powering Agricultural Rural Transformation Process in Nigeria

Dr. A. A. Ladele



Unlocking the Agricultural and Rural Potentials of Nigeria

Dr. A. A. Ladele

UNAD, Ado-Ekiti


Promoting Rural and National Economic Transformation through Agricultural Revolution

Prof. A. A. Jibowo

OOU, Ago-Iwoye

The line-up of the current National Executive Council of NRSA is as listed below:

List of the National Executive Council





Prof. Grace Modupe Adebo



Prof. Olayiwola Oluwajenyo Fasoranti

Vice President 1


Prof. Simon Ameh Ejembi

Vice President 2


Prof. John O. Oladeji

Editor in Chief


Dr. Uzoamaka N. Akwiwu



Dr. Abiodun Oladayo Ajala



Prof. Oluwakemi Enitan Fapojuwo

Financial Secretary


Dr. Idris Olabode Badiru

General Secretary


Dr. Olayinka Jelili Yusuf

Publicity Secretary


Dr. Sunday Idowu Ogunjimi

Assistant General Secretary 1


Dr. Mercy Opeoluwa Adeogun

Assistant General Secretary 2


Dr. Taofeeq Yekinni

Managing Editor


Prof. Olutokunbo B. Oyesola

Ex Officio 1


Prof. Kolawole Adebayo

Ex Officio 2


Prof. Banji O. Adisa

Ex Officio 3